First time away

This has been the first week I’ve been away since the wedding. It’s been nice being back in Chicago to wrap things up at Northwestern, but it’s also been a little odd being back here full-time for the first time in many months.

The accomplishment I suppose I should be blogging about is that I successfully passed by doctoral dissertation defense last Monday. Oddly, however, it was uneventful. The committee largely had no complaints about the substance of the dissertation, leaving most of the conversation focused on broader points about the role of information in politics and potential new directions for my future research. I’m grateful for my committee’s feedback, but it was not quite what I would have imagined four years ago.

Having the dissertation technically behind me, however, also serves as a reminder of everything still left to do in the coming months. Next week I need to submit my visa application for Denmark, as well formally apply for my degree (which will be granted in December). The second week of November, Heather and I will be taking a trip to the Danish Consulate in New York City to be fingerprinted for our residence permits. It’s quite an exciting time overall. I just wish Heather didn’t have so much school work and I didn’t have so much research work going on, so that we could enjoy our last Minnesota fall and take some time up on the North Shore before we leave. Alas, it doesn’t seem like it will happen.

So, with a lot of things left to check off our to-do list, I’m going to make this a short post. More to come.

Leave a Reply

